First Week as A Full-Time Entrepreneur

Finally the day arrived for letting go the monthly paycheck and starting working full time on my startup. The last day at office was busy saying goodbyes, cleaning up laptop and getting rid of all accumulations over the year. There couldn’t have been a better start to full-time entrepreneurship than a Lean Startup event in the evening that gave us an opportunity to pitch our idea to 60 odd people! I was excited about my pitch but didn’t get a second to prepare with all the frenzy at work.

Monday morning felt awkward without the early morning rush to catch a train, gazillion emails and phone meetings. I certainly didn’t miss it as my mind was occupied with the new design of our service, project timelines, and most of all – funding. My partner and I met at 9:30 AM and worked our day through till late in the night. It was a day full of discussions around design, product and architecture, calls with potential partners, employees and investors, and bunch of coding.

Despite a productive first day, the thought of not having a monthly paycheck kept weighing on my mind. It was obvious that I needed to set goals to measure my progress and get rid of this nagging feeling of being unpaid. On Tuesday, first we created a development plan to build our MVP with timelines. The next four days were focused on our plan with constant brainstorming with our design team, interviewing candidates, coding and networking with potential investors.  The week went by like a breeze but we made good progress on our product and business.

It is not easy to break out of the safety net and I am no exception. Everyday of the week I checked my bank account every few hours to reconfirm that our dough didn’t disappear with my job and questioned hard if I could do this venture with my job. I am out of the dilemma now and fully convinced that it is the right way to do justice to my ambition. The odds are exceptionally stacked against a startup so we don’t want to leave any stone unturned to move the needle, even if a tiny bit, in our favor. The first week was a test drive to how to manage my own time. I am sure next week will be better and it will continue to improve from here on. Welcome aboard an entrepreneur’s journey!

16 responses to this post.

  1. WOW!!!!! I WISH you nothing but success. Welcome to the dark side. I did what you did in 2007. It was an AMAZING learning experience, which is what I live for! CONGRATS

    Reply

    • Thanks much! It is certainly a great learning experience both professionally and personally. You see a different world once you shake out of your cocoon. Like anything new, it is scary, awesome and thrilling. Totally worth it!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Gautam Gupta on December 19, 2011 at 3:41 am

    Best of luck!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Yogeesh on December 19, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Very inspiring( the move in itself !, Thanks for sharing !

    Reply

  4. Posted by Saket on December 20, 2011 at 12:03 am

    I wish you all the best in your new venture. If anyone can do it – you can!!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Vijay on December 20, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Hey Rohit,

    Glad to know abt ur new venture and wish you all the very best….

    Reply

  6. Posted by ganesh gholap on December 22, 2011 at 6:39 am

    Hey Rohit,

    Very Best Of Luck For your Startup

    Reply

  7. Posted by chetan on December 30, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Hello Rohit,
    Wish you best of luck for your new startup.

    Chetan

    Reply

  8. Thanks Chetan!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Umair on January 10, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    You’re a winner Rohit! Go get em! Best of luck.

    Umair.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

